View this email in your browser
The Bretton Woods Committee is the nonpartisan network of prominent global citizens, which works to demonstrate the value of international economic cooperation and to foster strong, effective Bretton Woods institutions as forces for global well-being.

2016 Annual Meeting Highlights, Regional Spotlight: Sub-Saharan Africa Summary, Upcoming Programs, Views from the Members, and more!

Recent Events

2016 Annual Meeting

The Spirit of Bretton Woods: Multilateral Leadership in Turbulent Times

Thank you to all Bretton Woods Committee members and friends who attended our Annual Meeting on June 27, 2016. You helped to make it a robust and thought-provoking program. Held only days after the Brexit vote, we had an insightful discussion on the role of multilateral and U.S. leadership in addressing emerging global challenges. To read press coverage of the event, click here. An event summary and full recording can be found here.

Regional Spotlight: Economic Outlook for Sub-Saharan Africa

In June, the Bretton Woods Committee hosted a virtual conference entitled Regional Spotlight: Economic Outlook for Sub-Saharan Africa. The event featured Roger Nord, Deputy Director of the IMF’s Africa Department, and Bretton Woods Committee Member Carolyn Campbell, Founding Partner and Managing Director of Emerging Capital Partners (ECP). Read more

Upcoming Programs


2016 International Council Meeting

Date: Friday, October 7, 2016
Time: 11:00am – 4:00pm ET
With Reception to Follow
Location: St. Regis Hotel, Washington, D.C.


U.S. Economic and Trade Leadership Globally: Post-Election Analysis

Date: Wednesday, November 9, 2016
Location: GoToWebinar
Please check our website regularly for updates
on program dates, times, and locations.

Views from the Members

In this section, individual members share their perspective on specific issues with the broader Committee membership. Views expressed below are from individual Members and do not reflect any viewpoint of the Bretton Woods Committee.

Robert Bergqvist, Chief Economist, SEB Group

Robert Bergqvist, Chief Economist, SEB Group

Bretton Woods Committee Member Robert Bergqvist provides analysis on how prolonged low interest rates (and negative rates in a rising number of advanced economies) have affected the monetary policy paradigm, the role of central banks, and the risk appetite of investors. Read the full analysis.

Henry Owen Memorial Award 2016 Winners Announced

For this year's Henry Owen Memorial Award essay contest, graduate students were asked to consider how the Bretton Woods institutions and their respective members (U.S., European, emerging market, and/or developing countries) might embrace or enable the concepts of relevance, responsiveness, and results. Read the winning essays.

We are grateful to Committee members John Donaldson, Mary Oakes Smith, and Ana Vasilache for evaluating the submissions.

Member Spotlight

The Bretton Woods Committee would like to congratulate two members on their recent achievements!

Nouriel Roubini joined ACGM in July 2016 as Chief Economic Advisor.

John Koudounis was appointed Chief Executive Officer at Calamos Investments in March 2016.

Welcome New Members!

  • Mark R. Yzaguirre, University of Houston
  • Lourdes Casanova, S.C. Johnson School of Management, Cornell University
  • Evan Siddall, Canada Mortgage & Housing Corporation
  • The Honorable Kevin G. Lynch, Bank of Montreal
  • Francois Villeroy De Galhau, Banque de France
  • Kevin Lu, Partners Group
  • Gordon Dee Smith, Strategic Insight Group
  • Yuji Nakata, Nomura Holdings, Inc.
  • William Jannace, Fordham University School of Law


Reminder: Your Membership Contribution is Needed!

If you have already made your contribution for the year, thank you! You have helped to keep our well-regarded programs thriving. If you have not yet made your tax-deductible contribution, please click here or contact Melissa Smith, Office Manager, at 202-331-1616 or via e-mail. 

Do you know someone who might be a good candidate for the Committee? Nominate your colleagues for membership with the Bretton Woods Committee via this online form and help us grow our membership.

Copyright © 2016 Bretton Woods Committee, All rights reserved.
This e-mail was sent by the Bretton Woods Committee

Bretton Woods Committee
1701 K Street, NW
Suite 950
Washington, DC 20006

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Bretton Woods Committee · 1701 K Street, NW · Suite 950 · Washington, DC 20006 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp