Did you know that July is Disability Pride Month? 
Disability Pride Month celebrates disabled persons embracing their disabilities as integral parts of who they are, reclaiming visibility in public, and interacting fully with their disabilities out in the open, and rejecting shame and internalized ableism. The month is a time to recognize and  celebrate how disability is a natural part of human diversity. 
What is Disability Pride Month?
Disability Pride Month is celebrated each year in July. Disability Pride initially started as a day of celebration in 1990, following the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act, which is celebrating its 32nd anniversary on July 26th! The first official celebration of Disability Pride Month occurred in July 2015, which also marked the 25th anniversary of the ADA. Since then, cities across the country have celebrated disability pride months with parades and other festivities. 
Learn More About Disability Pride Month!
The Disability Pride flag
What does the Disability Pride flag represent?
The Disability Pride Flag was created by Ann Magill, a disabled woman, and each of its elements symbolize a different part of the disability community. 
  • The Black Field represents the disabled people who have lost their lives due not only to their illness, but also to negligence, suicide, and eugenics. 
  • Each color on the flag represents a different aspect of disability or impairment. 
    • Red: physical disabilities 
    • Yellow: cognitive and intellectual disabilities
    • White: invisible and undiagnosed disabilities 
    • Blue: mental illness 
    • Green: sensory perception disabilities
What are some examples of legislation that protects people with disabilites? 
The ADA prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities in all areas of public life, including jobs, schools, transportation, and all public and private places that are open to the general public. The purpose of the law is to make sure that people with disabilities have the same rights and opportunities as everyone else.

The Fair Housing Act requires all "covered multifamily dwellings" designed and constructed for first occupancy after March 13, 1991, to be accessible to and usable by people with disabilities. Covered multifamily dwellings are all dwelling units in buildings containing four or more units with one or more elevators, and all ground floor units in buildings containing four or more units, without an elevator. 

Additionally, a person with a disability can request a reasonable modification to interiors and exteriors of dwellings and to common and public use areas. Under Section 504, a housing provider is required to provide and pay for the structural modification as a reasonable accommodation unless it amounts to an undue financial and administrative burden or a fundamental alteration of the program. 

Together the ADA, Fair Housing Act, and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, have helped to make housing more accessible for people with disabilities. 
Where can I report disability discrimination?
Advocates or protected class members who wish to report housing discrimination can either call the Fair Housing Law Center at 877-725-4472 or make an online report. All services provided by the Fair Housing Law Center are free of charge regardless of income.
Report Housing Discrimination
The Fair Housing Law Center is providing both live and virtual training and is available as a vendor to educate the public at your upcoming outreach events. To schedule, call 877.725.4472 or visit our website
Copyright © 2020 Southwestern PA Legal Services, Inc. All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
10 West Cherry 
Washington, PA 15301 

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.