Copy
View this email in your browser
Wire whisks, wooden spoons, other kitchen utensils

Selecting Materials for Active Learning

As another school year begins, we are focusing on materials; both how to choose them and how to present them.  How do you figure out which materials to use to work on specific skills?  How do you match a child’s skill level and needs with specific materials?

Choosing materials and equipment requires that a child be assessed, and it also necessitates that the teacher or adult be familiar with each item, knowing its properties and some of the different ways it can be used.
 

Points to Consider When Choosing Materials

  • the learner's preferences
  • the learner's skill level
  • the number of objects
  • what an object is made of
  • what an object can do
Learn more.

Join us for our Active Learning Study Group, where we will address this topic on September 28, 2017.
Brushes made of a variety of materials
Attractive Objects
 
What qualities might make an object attractive to a child?
This video shows what happens when an activity is above the appropriate developmental level for a child.
Hanging Position Board
Hanging Position Board
Try these activities to encourage grasping.
A boy in a HOPSA dress on a track.
Watch this video of a boy in a HOPSA dress on a track.  Note how objects are placed under his feet and on the HOPSA dress itself.
Brushes in containers
Brushes in Containers
 
Ideas to Match Materials to Goals
Boy playing with small balls
In this video a young boy plays with a set of objects (balls) and explores their properties.
A boy uses materials in a prone position.


Join us for this year's Active Learning Study Group!

 

The first of our 5-part Active Learning Study Group webinars will be held on

September 28, 2017.


All webinars are FREE and will be recorded and archived on our website.

Time:  4-5 PM EST;  3-4 PM CST;  2-3 PM MST;  1-2 PM PST

Register now for this year's 5-part series of webinars!   We will focus on a variety of topics, including setting up a classroom and schedule, choosing materials, addressing the student with CVI, using Active Learning with older students and information on research related to Active Learning. Various guest speakers will be a part of this year’s presentations.  

You must register for each individual session;  
go to https://txtsbvi.escworks.net/catalog/session.aspx?session_id=39329.



Copyright © 2017 , Active Learning Space, All rights reserved.


Our mailing address is:
cushmanc@tsbvi.edu

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.
 






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Perkins School for the Blind · 175 N. Beacon Street · Watertown, MA 02472 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp