Copy
Active Learning Space Newsletter, May 2017
View this email in your browser
Little Room

Using a Little Room

The Little Room is a piece of equipment that provides students with a safe environment for independent play and exploration. Many children are more willing to tactually explore objects when they are in control of an activity and can anticipate what might happen.

Learn more about:

  • Objects to use in the Little Room
  • Educational benefits of the Little Room
  • Forms to use for systematic planning and observation of a Little Room
Watch our latest video of a child in a Little Room!

CVI-Friendly Pegboard Book


Diane Sheline, TVI, CLVT, has created a CVI-friendly pegboard book!  Attach familiar, preferred objects to a black pegboard background to encourage learners to explore.  Learn how make your own, following a detailed tutorial on her website Strategies to See.
Journey Sticks

Journey Sticks


Dr. Joe Gibson gave some amazing presentations at this year's Texas Deafblind Symposium and he was kind enough to share his ideas with us on the Active Learning Space. Journey Sticks, which are similar to an experience book, offer a way to engage learners in a literacy activity using an Active Learning approach.

Active Learning Study Group:  May 25th

 
Girl exploring fossil in sand trayOur final Active Learning Study Group of this school year will be held May 25, 2017.

Kathryn Iliff, Active Learning Coordinator at Narbethong State Special School, Queensland, Australia, will present information about their program.

1:00 p.m. Pacific
2:00 p.m. Mountain
3:00 p.m. Central
4:00 p.m. Eastern

 

We apologize for the technical difficulties in our last study group session, and we look forward to a better quality broadcast this time!

If you missed previous sessions, you can view the recorded versions here.

PLEASE BE SURE TO REGISTER FOR THE STUDY GROUP!
The Study Group is FREE, but you must register.  A link will be sent to participants prior to the session. ACVREP credit is available!

 

 

Are you looking to purchase
Active Learning equipment?

 

Child kneeling in tall Little Room
Check out what's available from LilliWorks!  
Perceptualizing aids, other equipment, books & videos are all available.  Download their catalog to learn more



Copyright © 2017 | Active Learning Space, All rights reserved.


Our mailing address is:
elearning@perkins.org

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

 






This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Perkins School for the Blind · 175 N. Beacon Street · Watertown, MA 02472 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp