For Immediate Release

September 15, 2017

Contact: Dave Jacobson, (818) 943-2348
Maclen Zilber, (510) 508-9142
Jacobson & Zilber Strategies



Endorsement from L.A. Councilman Joe Buscaino Strengthens Christy Smith's Candidacy for AD-38


SANTA CLARITA, CA- In another indication of her widespread support from local leaders, today Newhall School Board President Christy Smith was endorsed by Los Angeles City Councilman Joe Buscaino. 

In a statement released following the endorsement, Councilman Buscaino remarked:

"I'm proud to endorse Christy Smith for State Assembly. She's tough, smart and willing to do the necessary work to uplift her community -- from more job creation to creating a fair economy, increased investments in local schools and ensuring safer, healthier neighborhoods. Christy Smith is ready to lead on behalf of the 38th District and I'm pleased to back her campaign."

Today's announcement follows Newhall School Board President Christy Smith's recent unveiling of her new digital video titled, "Our Movement." To view the ad, click here or on the screen shot below.


Since the beginning of her campaign, Smith's moved at a blazing fast pace to consolidate crucial support, including from 90% of AD-38's California Democratic Party's delegates, far more than the 70% threshold she needs to win the Party's endorsement, as well as a range of organizations and leaders, including:


  • California Faculty Association
  • National Organization for Women (NOW) California Chapter
  • North Valley Democratic Club
  • Simi Valley Democratic Club
  • Santa Clarita Valley Young Democrats
  • State Building and Construction Trades Council of California
  • Los Angeles/Orange County Building and Construction Trades Council
  • United Association (UA) Pipe Trades Local 250
  • United Association (UA) Pipe Trades Local 761
  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 40
  • Laborers (LiUNA) Local 300
Elected and Community Leaders
  • U.S. Congresswoman and State Assembly Speaker Emeritus  Karen Bass
  • U.S. Congressman  Jimmy Gomez
  • California State Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon
  • California State Assembly Speaker Emeritus and U.C. Regent John A. Pérez
  • California State Controller Betty Yee
  • California State Treasurer John Chiang
  • State Senator Ben Allen
  • State Senator Fran Pavley (Ret.)
  • State Assembly Democratic Caucus Chair Mike Gipson 
  • State Assembly Member Cristina Garcia
  • State Assembly Member Jacqui Irwin
  • State Assembly Member Tony Thurmond
  • State Assembly Member Lorena Gonzalez-Fletcher
  • State Assembly Member Laura Friedman
  • California Democratic Party First Vice Chair Alex Rooker
  • Ventura County Democratic Party Chair John Griffin 
  • Los Angeles City Controller Wendy Greuel (Ret.)
  • Los Angeles City Council Member Nury Martinez
  • Los Angeles City Council Member Joe Buscaino
  • Bryan Caforio, 2016 Democratic Congressional Candidate CA25, Santa Clarita
  • Lisa Caforio, Santa Clarita
  • Jeri Boyd, Santa Clarita
  • Kristi Harn, Simi Valley
  • Seymour Amster, Granada Hills
  • Nathan Bousfield, SCV Young Democrats,Recording Secretary*,  Santa Clarita
  • Krisna Crawford-Velasco, Chicano/Latino Caucus Corresponding Secretary, Granada Hills
  • Michelle Elmer, AD38 Chair, SFV Young Democrats, DPSFV, Porter Ranch
  • Stacy Fortner, AD38 Vice Chair, Recording Secretary, Democratic Alliance for Action, Santa Clarita
  • Diana Love, former CDP Region 9 Director
  • Philip Germain, Chair, 25Up, SCV Young Democrats, Treasurer*, Santa Clarita
  • Evan Koplin, Santa Clarita
  • CeCe Koplin, CADEM E-Board AD38, Santa Clarita
  • Michael Kulka, 25Up, DPSFV Vice Chair*, Santa Clarita
  • Andrew Munson, SCV Young Democrats, Santa Clarita
  • Julie Olsen, DSCC Delegate, Saugus School Board Member*, Santa Clarita
  • Lynne Plambeck, Santa Clarita
  • Logan Smith, SCV Young Democrats, Vice President*, Santa Clarita
  • Patti Sulpizio, Democratic Alliance for Action, President*, Santa Clarita
  • Andrew Taban, SCV Young Democrat, President*, Santa Clarita
  • Jeremy Thompson, Santa Clarita
  • Sondra Harth, Simi Valley Democratic Club,  Corresponding Secretary*, Simi Valley
  • Ryan Valencia, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Recording Secretary*, Simi Valley
  • Victor Cherdsuriya, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Controller*, Simi Valley
  • Javad Ayala, Simi Valley
  • John Casselberry, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Administrative VP*, Simi Valley
  • Jodie Cooper, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Executive VP*, Simi Valley
  • Jerry Danielsen,  Democratic Alliance for Action, Vice President*, Santa Clarita
  • Melissa Garcia, Chatsworth
  • Maria Guerra, Santa Clarita
  • Hilary Hall Puente, Santa Clarita
  • Henry Knebel, Santa Clarita
  • Andrew Lopez, Simi Valley
  • Bonnie Nikolai, Val Verde
  • David Ruelas, SCV Young Democrats, Senator*,  Santa Clarita
  • Lysa Simon, North Valley Democratic Club, Vice President*, Granada Hills
  • Ryan Skolnick, Simi Valley Democratic Club, Simi Valley
  • Brian Dennert, Simi Valley

Smith, who previously ran in 2016 and shocked political observers across California by making the 38th District competitive for Democrats for the first time in recent memory, raised and spent a significant $1.4 million this past November. She begins the 2018 campaign with over $50,000 in her war chest. 

Christy Smith was elected to the Newhall School Board in 2009 and is currently serving as the Board's President. She is active in education advocacy locally and state-wide, previously serving as the Legislative Vice President of the Santa Clarita Valley Trustees Association and as a delegate to the California School Board Association. Smith lives in Santa Clarita with Phil, her husband of 26 years and their two girls.

*Titles for Identification Purposes Only.


Paid for by Christy Smith for Assembly 2018

Copyright © 2017 J&Z Strategies, All rights reserved.