from the President of the LSAANZ
View this email in your browser

A letter from Deirdre Howard-Wagner to members of the Law and Society Assocation of Australia and New Zealand

Dear LSAANZ 2016 Conference participants,
I am looking forward to seeing you at the upcoming annual Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand (LSAANZ) conference titled ‘Disruption, Temporality, Law: The Future of Law and Society Scholarship Conference, which is being hosted by Laws Futures Centre and the Griffith Law School in conjunction with the Southern Cross University School of Law and Justice. The conference organising committee has put together a fantastic program for this year’s conference.
As current President of LSAANZ, I also wish to take this opportunity to notify you of the 2016 Annual General Meeting of the Law & Society Association of Australia and New Zealand Inc. to be held at 12.30pm (AEST) on Friday 2nd of December 2016 (see attached notice). The LSAANZ AGM forms part of the program for the 2016 LSAANZ conference and your conference registration includes a 12 month LSAANZ membership for 2017.  I encourage you to join us for the LSAANZ AGM.
While the LSAANZ has an active Management Committee, we are always looking for enthusiastic new members from the Law and Society community in Australia and New Zealand. We particularly encourage RHD students to become Graduate Members of the Management Committee. 

This year we are also putting a special call out for a new Secretary from among our members in Queensland (due to regulatory requirements the association secretary must live within 65km of Queensland) as our long-standing Secretary wishes to step down from this role. Over the last year, we distributed aspects of the secretary’s role to other committee members, so the main responsibility is the preparation of Annual Financial Report and completing Annual Return with the Queensland Office of Fair Trading.  There are also some overlaps with the membership officer’s role in terms of membership registrations (depositing cash/cheques). Below is a list of the current LSAANZ Management Committee.

Please forward any nominations for the 2016 committee or proxy forms to
Dr Deirdre Howard-Wagner
President, Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand (LSAANZ)

Nominations for the 2017 Management Committee
Nomination form for 2017 Management Committee can be downloaded here.

Proxy form for 2016 AGM
If you cannot attend the AGM, the form nominating your proxy (who can attend the Annual General Meeting and vote on your behalf) can be downloaded here.

2016 Management Committee

  • President: Deirdre Howard-Wagner, Research School of Social Sciences, The Australian National University
  • Treasurer: Rob McQueen, University of Melbourne 
  • Secretary: Timothy Peters, Griffith Law School, Griffith University (resigning position)
  • Minutes Secretary: Kirsty Duncanson, Legal Studies - School of Social Sciences, La Trobe University 
  • Communications Officer & Membership Officer: Mary Spiers Williams, Law, Australian National University 
  • Executive Committee:
    • Dr Bridgette Toy Cronin, Law, University of Otago 
    • Prof Margaret Davies, Law, Flinders University 
    • Prof John Flood, Law, Griffith University
    • Warren Forster, University of Otago / Forster and Associates
    • Nicole Graham, Law, University of Technology Sydney
    • Robyn Holder, Criminology, Griffith University 
    • Dean Knight, Law, Victoria University of Wellington 
    • Dr Trish Luker, Law University of Technology, Sydney
    • Jane Wangmann, Law, University of Technology Sydney
  • Graduate Representatives: 
Copyright © 2016 Law and Society Association of Australia and New Zealand, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp